Washington Township Planning Board JANUARY 11, 2016

The January 11, 2016 Reorganization Meeting of the Washington Township Planning Board was called to order by Clerk Margolese at 7:30 p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT

CLASS IV: Mark Bauerlein, William Leavens, Kathleen McGroarty, Charles DiSalvo,

Lou Mont

ALTERNATES: Howard Popper, Sam Akin

CLASS I: Ken Short
CLASS II: Roger Read
CLASS III: Matthew Murello
ABSENT: Eric Trevena

OTHERS PRESENT: Engineer Hall, Attorney Cofoni, Planner Banisch, Clerk Margolese

Adequate notice of this meeting was sent to the Observer-Tribune on January 30, 2015, and posted on the Bulletin Board on the same date. Notices were mailed as requested.

At its Organizational Meeting on the Township Committee reappointed Mark Bauerlein and William Leavens as Class IV members, Sam Akin as Alternate #1, Committeeman - Mayor designate Ken Short as a Class I member, Roger Read as a Class II member. Committeeman Matthew Murello as a Class III member was appointed.

Attorney Cofoni swore in the reappointed members of the Planning Board prior to the start of the meeting.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

The Board discussed the amendment of the board rules about the election of officers being limited to Class IV members. A motion was made by Mr. DiSalvo, seconded by Mr. Short to amend section 101 of the board rules to reflect that Class II, IV and Alternate members are allowed to be elected as Chairman and Vice Chairman. A voice vote was taken and the motion carried.

1. Chairman

Mr. DiSalvo made a motion to nominate Mr. Trevena as Chairman for 2016, seconded by Mr. Leavens. Mr. Short made a motion to close nominations for chairman, seconded by Mr. Popper. A voice vote was taken and all were in favor and nominations for chairman were closed.

A roll call vote was taken on the motion to elect Mr. Trevena as Chairman for 2016.

Ayes: Ken Short, Matthew Murello, Kathleen McGroarty, Charles DiSalvo, Mark Bauerlein, William Leavens, Louis Mont, Roger Read, Sam Akin, Howard Popper Nays: None Abstentions: None

2. First Vice Chairman

Mr. DiSalvo nominated Mr. Sam Akin as First Vice Chairman for 2016, seconded by Mr. Mont.

Mr. Short made a motion to close nominations, seconded by Mr. Mont. A voice vote was taken; all were in favor and nominations were closed for First Vice Chairman.

A roll call vote was taken on the motion to elect Mr. Akin as First Vice Chairman for 2015.

Ayes: Ken Short, Matthew Murello, Kathleen McGroarty, Charles DiSalvo, Mark Bauerlein, William Leavens, Louis Mont, Roger Read, Sam Akin, Howard Popper Nays: None Abstentions: None Clerk Margolese turned the meeting over to Vice Chairman Akin.

3. Second Vice Chairman

Mr. Mont nominated Mr. Roger Read as Second Vice Chairman for 2016, seconded by Mr. Popper.

Washington Township Planning Board JANUARY 11, 2016

Mr. Popper made a motion to close nominations for Second Vice Chairman, seconded by Mr. Bauerlein. A voice vote was taken; all were in favor and the motion carried.

A roll call vote was taken on the motion to elect Mr. Read as Second Vice Chairman for 2016.

Ayes: Ken Short, Matthew Murello, Kathleen McGroarty, Charles DiSalvo, Mark Bauerlein, William Leavens, Louis Mont, Roger Read, Sam Akin, Howard Popper Nays: None Abstentions: None

4. Secretary

Mr. DiSalvo nominated Ms. Barbara Margolese as Secretary of the Planning Board for 2016, seconded by Mr. Leavens.

Mr. Bauerlein made a motion to close nominations for Secretary, seconded by Ms. McGroarty. A voice vote was taken; all were in favor and the motion carried.

A roll call vote was taken on the motion to elect Ms. Margolese as Secretary for 2016.

Ayes: Ken Short, Matthew Murello, Kathleen McGroarty, Charles DiSalvo, Mark Bauerlein, William Leavens, Louis Mont, Roger Read, Sam Akin, Howard Popper Nays: None Abstentions: None

EXECUTIVE SESSION

A motion was made to adopt a resolution to go into executive session to discuss personnel by Mr. Popper, seconded by Mr. Short at 8:00 p.m.

The board came out of executive session at 8:15 p.m.

RESOLUTIONS

- 16-01 Appointment of Professionals for 2016 (with the removal of the traffic engineer)
- 16-02 Appointment of Board Clerk for 2016
- 16-03 Scheduled Meeting Dates for 2016 (Regular Meetings & the Reorganization Meeting for 2017)
- 16-04 Open Public Meetings Act / Agenda Fee
- 16-05 Committee assignments for 2016
- 16-06 Adoption of Procedure for 2016

Mr. Di Salvo made a motion to adopt Resolution 16-01, 16-02, 16-03, 16-04, 16-05, and 16-06, seconded by Mr. Leavens. A roll call vote was taken:

Ayes: Ken Short, Matthew Murello, Kathleen McGroarty, Charles DiSalvo, Mark Bauerlein, William Leavens, Louis Mont, Roger Read, Sam Akin, Howard Popper Nays: None Abstentions: None

Mr. Bauerlein made a motion to adopt Resolution 16-08, a resolution appointing Harold Maltz as Traffic Engineer from January 1, 2016 to March 14, 2016, seconded by Mr. DiSalvo. A roll call vote was taken: Ayes: Ken Short, Matthew Murello, Kathleen McGroarty, Charles DiSalvo, Mark Bauerlein, William Leavens, Louis Mont, Roger Read, Sam Akin, Howard Popper Nays: None Abstentions: None

Mr. Mont made a motion to adjourn the reorganization meeting, seconded by Mr. DiSalvo. A voice vote was taken and the reorganization meeting was adjourned at 8:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Barbara J. Margolese, Clerk