payment topleft payment topright pothole topright

All requests for discovery in must go through the Police Department Records Bureau. 
Contact the Police Department Records Burau at 908.876.3232

The State of New Jersey changed the penalties for violations of Title 39, the statutes pertaining to motor vehicles, in early 2004.

The most recent penalties are as follows:

Name
Statute
Fine
Name
Statute
Fine
Expired License
39:3-10A
$54
Unsigned License
39:3-10C
$54
Failure to Report Name Change
39:3-10D
$54
Credentials not in Possession
39:3-29
$180
Unclear Plates
39:3-33
$54
Unsafe Vehicle
39:3-44
$54
Lights/Wipers during Rain
39:3-47A
$54
Maintenance of Lamps
39:3-66
$54
Failure to wear seatbelt
39:3-76.2F
$46
Failure to Inspect
39:8-1
$130
Traffic signal violation
39:4-81
$85
Failure to keep right
39:4-82
$85
Improper Passing
39:4-85
$85
 Crossing over center line
39:4-86
$85
Improper action at traffic signal
39:4-115
(all)
$85
Speeding 39:4-98
1-9
$85
Careless Driving
If injuries are involved, Court appearance is required
39:4-98
$85
Fines are based on the miles per hour over the posted limit. The fee schedule is to the right. Speeding 20 miles per hour over the posted limit is a mandatory Court appearance.
10-14
$95
 
15-19
$105
20 Over


Appearance Required


NJ State Parking Violations

Parking
39:4-135
$54
Parking
 39:4-138
(A to N)
$54 
Parking 39:4-138O 
Handicapped Parking
Mandatory Appearance

Town Ordinances

Overnight Parking
207 - -
$33
 

The following summonses require a Court Appearance

Driving while Suspended
39:3-40
Driving while Intoxicated
39:4-50
Avoiding a traffic signal
30:4-66.2
Uninsured motor vehicle
39:6B-2
Handicapped Parking
39:4-138O
 

 

Penalties

All summonses are subject to an additional penalty of $10.00 if the fine is not paid by the Court date.

If the summons has not been satisfied by the Court date on the summons, a Failure to Appear (FTA) Notice will be issued. Failure to respond to a FTA Notice may result in the issuance of a warrant for your arrest. In addition to the warrant being issued, your driving privileges may be suspended in the State of New Jersey.

Penalty for the issuance of a warrant is $25.00.

Points

Inquiries about points should not be made thorough the municipal court. The courts do not asses points, they are assessed by the Motor Vehicle Commission. Points, surcharges, etc. are listed on the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission web site.

 

Search

Municipal Court Info

43 Schooley's Mountain Road
Long Valley, NJ 07853

Phone: 908-876-3852
Fax: 908-876-0058

Business Hours for the Municipal Court:

Monday to Friday, 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM

June – August Hours
Monday to Thursday, 7:30 AM to 5:00 PM*

Court Hours are extended one Monday a month and shortened the following Friday.
*See the Schedule for more information.